the dead

So normally I’m pretty cautious in picking up a zombie book.  Honestly, I tried reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I just couldn’t get through it.  The idea was great, but when Charlotte’s face boils started bursting into her soup and she starts trying to defecate in the corner, my copy got shut down and sent right back to Half Price.  Just couldn’t do it.

So, again, I’m pretty wary when I start reading zombie books.  I’ve read some amazing ones like these:

generation_dead forest of hands and teeth

But let’s be honest: these were both written for girls and have a lot less gore than one written for boys might.  Also, when I picked up The Dead I thought I was getting the first book in the series.  Turned out I bought the second one, so imagine how happy I was to figure out that it was at least a prequel to the first book, so really, I was just getting the story in chronological order!

I have to say, this book exceeded all of my expectations.  It was fun, fast-paced, and well-developed.  It reminded me a little of James Dasherner’s The Maze Runner in that you start with a group of boys (and one girl) all trying to escape the things adults are doing to them, all while people getting picked off left and right.  Only this time the adults aren’t running tests, but have all been turned into zombies.  Everyone over the age of 16 in fact.  And Ed, Jack, and their friends have to try and find a safe place to hide until they can figure out what to do next.

The_Maze_Runner_cover

It also reminded me of the Skinjacker Trilogy by Neal Shusterman which I absolutely LOVE!  In Mad Matt you find a bit of the ethereal quality that you had in Everlost and a bit of the uberscary level of dedication you had in Miss Mary.  Really, when the book clicked for me and started to feel even the slightest bit like Everlost, I was hooked.  And the zombie stuff  isn’t too bad!  Yes, it’s in there, and if it doesn’t bother you, that’s fine.  If it does, you can generally skip to the end of the paragraph and not miss a darn thing which is great!

everwild

It’s a story about loyalty and friendship, hard times that make you grow up too fast, and the things we give up in order to survive.  If you are at all a fan of zombie stories, you should check this book out!  Must read!

