Sorry I haven’t written any updates in a while, but I’ve got the DFW Writers’ Conference coming up, and I’m trying to massively cut down the word count in my book.  By how much you ask?  By at least 30,000 words.

Yes, I know, that sounds like a lot, but when you consider my novel started this process at about 207,000 words, you’ll understand the need for the cutting.

It’s going well so far.  I’m about to start Chapter 23 of 45 and I’ve cut approx. 17,000 words so far.   Hopefully that means I can not only make my goal, but surpass it.  I would love to be able to get to 170,000 words or less.  Yes, it’s still long enough to frighten some potential agents or editors away, but I feel it’s much more realistic than a book at 200,000+.

The only problem is at this point my brain is shutting down.  I’m forcing myself to read, to clean, to do other things, so that I can keep thinking clearly.  You can only work on one project for so many hours a day, and for so many days in a row, before you hit a meltdown.  And that, I just can’t afford right now.

So I stick to it, working and hacking away, and maybe, just maybe, I might have something real to show for it at the end of this conference.

Fingers crossed!

