So, something else I’ve been obsessing over lately: book trailers.  Did you even know there were such things?  I learned myself a little while ago, but recently I’ve been trying harder to keep up with them.  There really are some amazing ones out there, as well as some not so great ones of course.  To give you an idea of a great one, here’s the one for Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan (which I LOVE!!!)  Now,  an agent I whose class I went to at DFWCON had this book described to her as Amish zombies.  Uh…what?  That’s what you’re thinking, right?  Well watch this…

Pretty cool, huh?  And suddenly Amish zombies makes sense.  (And you should totally read this series because I loved it!)

Now, here’s a trailer I caught without knowing what the book was about or if it was part of a series or anything…

Hey wait!  Turns out, that book I’ve been seeing and passing up for the last couple of years, Bad Girls Don’t Die, suddenly looks really interesting!  Reading the dust jacket synopsis had never quite pulled me in, and now suddenly I wanted to read the book!  (So of course it’s now sitting in my stack of “To Reads”)

Now most of these trailers are made primarily for YA books.  A lot of schools are apparently allowing students to make their own trailers for projects now, so you’ll find a ton of those as well.

There are also are a growing number of them for adult books as well.  Like so…

(P.S. this one has some comical monster violence, so just be forewarned…)

Now, I’m honestly not sure if I’ll ever read this one, but I’ll watch that trailer over and over.  It’s hilarious.  Also, it’s at least moved me from “Probably never read this” to “Hmmm….maybe….”  Which is the whole point of these things, right?  Move you closer to reading the book?

So, in that vein, here is a trailer for a new book that just released on Tuesday.  Without the trailer I might not have been interested…

So, if you’re a YA nerd like I am and you haven’t checked out any book trailers yet for whatever reason, get on out there and start looking!  Do like I did and start by just searching “book trailer” on YouTube and see what pops up!  Let me know what you find!

