Sorry it’s been a little bit since the last post.  Life has been a little hectic with a mild sinus infection, an active puppy, and a visit to the Dallas Arboretum.   Oh, and did I mention my husband accidentally locking me out of the house this morning before taking off for work so I had rely on the kindness of my neighbor and my mom to track him down to get him to come back and let me in?  Uh yeah…it’s been an interesting week…

So the puppy is doing well.  Dyson has started to warm up to her more, but he’s definitely not there yet.  If she wasn’t so dang spazzy when he gives her the slightest bit of attention, it wouldn’t be so bad, but by the time I calm her down, he’s lost interest. (P.S. please ignore my finger in the picture.  I’m writing this from my netbook and the only pic editing software this thing will let me use is Paint.  Really…)

IMAG1887

She has been learning some things, though.  She’s got Sit and Watch me started.  We’re working on the leash training, but if you’ve ever tried to teach a toddler or a puppy patience, you know it’s slow going.  Up next is Lay Down.  Not sure what to go for after that.  Maybe either Stay (always helpful) or Leave It, but she might be too young for that yet.  We’ll see…

IMAG1885

We’re still working on the biting and potty training, though.  Dyson’s dog bed had to get moved because she kept trying to pee in it.  Seriously, one second she’s pushing the tennis ball around the bed, the next she stands up and pees.  Sigh… Although, on the other hand, she did cry at the door once today when she wanted to go out to pee, so that’s something, right???

Of course, ten minutes ago she peed on my floor again so….

IMAG1888

In other fun news, the hubby took an extra day off work so we could get our Groupon on and hit the Dallas Arboretum.  If you live in the area and you’ve never been you should totally go.  It’s fun, but do it early in the year or early in the day because you know how Texas loves to get hot and humid real fast.  (Although, if you’re bringing the kiddos you could totally swing by the water-spitting frogs and let them splash around for a bit.  Heck, this time I even saw parents prepared enough to bring their kids in clothing-hidden swimwear!)

Here’s a pic of the frogs from a few years ago…

frogsLuckily it was a much prettier day this time when we went.  Here’s a few of our pretty pretty pictures…

IMAG1829 IMAG1778 IMAG1783 IMAG1791 IMAG1798 IMAG1810 IMAG1820 IMAG1825Trust me, there are tons more pictures than those, but I’ll spare you the family slide show.  Although, I do have to say that the themed area they having going on right now is Alice In Wonderland, and it’s pretty neat.  Here’s just a few more shots of that…

IMAG1869 IMAG1849 IMAG1853 IMAG1854 IMAG1859 IMAG1863 IMAG1864

Neat, huh?  Anyway, it was a fun way to spend the morning before I had to head off to the Summer Theater Camp at the Arlington Library.  I love my kiddos!  They’re so much fun and so creative!  And I love the summer bunch because you get to watch the home-schoolers mix it up with the public-schoolers like it happens every day.  Sure they’re different in little ways, like when one of the home-school girls made a reference that in regular school would have been taken dirty in an instant (I know because I had the exact same reaction as one of the public kids did) but she had nooooo idea anything was weird about what she said.  But then again, when the public girls looked at me like “Whaaaaaat?”  All I had to say was “Meh.  She’s home-schooled.”  And the girls just nodded like “Okay, cool.  Now it makes sense.”  But they didn’t make fun of her or treat her differently (other than maybe to watch what they say around her), and that’s why I love those kiddos!  Such a great bunch!  (I would totally post a picture of them here, but since I would feel like I need all of their mommies and daddies to give permission, sadly you all will just have to use your imaginations.)

So, until next time, it’s adios!  And don’t forget NOT  to lock the door if your wife is still outside without a key…or phone… ;p

