So I know I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I finally got around to seeing Star Trek: Into Darkness this last weekend, and like all really great movies I can’t get this one out of my head…

star-trek-into-darkness-poster

So,  if you know me at all you know that Joss Whedon is one of my idols, and the more and more I watch of his work, I’m pretty sure J.J. Abrams needs to be added to that list.  Seriously, his work is amazing! (If you don’t believe me, I trump you with the masterpiece that is Super 8.  If you haven’t seen it yet there’s something wrong with you and you need to watch it right away. If you’ve watched it and don’t like it, there’s something wrong with you and I’m not sure I want to know you anymore…)

super-8-movie-poster

P.S. if you’re a Netflixer like me, Super 8 is on InstantView still so GO WATCH!

Anyway, where was I?  Oh yes, the brilliance of the new Star Trek movies…

Now, there are many reasons this new set of films is so great.  One, for someone that did not grow up watching the series, Abrams seems to have a good understanding of what the fans all love about the originals.  From dropping in things like dead Tribbles to, “Lose the red shirts,” Abrams seems to really ‘get it’.

Also, the humor is greatness.  Can I tell you how much I love this scene from the first one?

kirkAnd then there’s the beautiful cinematography, the music, the action, the…everything.  But I think what I love most about these movies is the beautiful way they’ve developed the relationships.  You get to see character that even if you’re like my husband and have never watched the original series or movies, you still feel like you already know and love these guys.  (It’s like a West Wing kind of feel, you know?)

Plus, can I also tell you how much I LOVE that Spock gets the girl in these?

spockYes, I am a shipper and I will be until the day I die, and so I did a big ol’ happy dance when this scene happened, and I love the dynamic it adds to the entire crew, but especially btw Spock, Uhura, and Kirk all together.  It’s greatness.  And thank goodness J.J. Abrams understands that what this series doesn’t need is a love triangle btw the three of them.  Blech!

Without ruining anything for anyone who’s slow like me and hasn’t seen it yet, I find the way they allow Spock’s character to develop over time, the way he has to reconcile his human and Vulcan sides just brilliant.  It’s fun to watch Jim evolve as well, and Bones taking the ride right along with them.  It’s also fun that while the storylines are somewhat similar to the original movies, you’re getting to watch these guys experience all these things at a younger age, which makes them less experienced, less jaded, and more open to change.  Again, greatness.

And let us not forget the greatness of Benedict Cumberbatch, shall we?

benedict

So, in case you haven’t figured it out, I’m in love with this movie.  In fact, the day after I watched it I immediately wanted to go back and see it again.  But since it’ll probably be out of the theaters by the time I hit payday, I decided to settle for sitting the hubby down to watch Wrath of Khan with me on Netflix.  (Star Trek The Motion Picture isn’t available on InstantView, so we’re going to have to rent that one.  And then fastforward through all the “panning the ship/look at our cool technology” scenes.  If you haven’t seen it do yourself a favor and do the same.  They go on waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too long.  Trust me.)

star trek

Oh, and in case you’re wondering about the puppies, Dyson has been getting closer and closer to liking Lizzie.  He comes over to see her whenever she gets back from a walk or comes out of the kennel.  Now if we could just get her to calm the frick down when she sees him, he might just stick around a little longer… (Fingers crossed!)

