IMAG1976

So I’ve realized something recently:

I like sleep.

Not like I didn’t know this before, but I’ve realized that I like sleep more than other people.  At least more than other fictional people.

Think about it.  How often do you read a book where someone stays up all night long because of…whatever, and then it doesn’t really seem to affect them at all the next day?  Or they wake up at like 2 in the morning, and decide, “Screw it.  I’m just going to get up.”

Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t care how bad of a dream I’ve had, whatever guilty feelings I’m dealing with, or…whatever, but I like my sleep.  If I wake up from a terrifying nightmare at 2 am, believe me, I’m going to stay in bed and try to get back to sleep.  I don’t care if it never happens all the way, and I’m lying in bed awake 2 hrs later – I’m staying in bed gosh dang it!

Heck, when Lizzie B wakes me up 10 minutes before my alarm is supposed to go off, I get ticked!  I NEED those last 10 minutes of sleep!  They’re mine and you’re not taking them away from me!  If you try, I’m just going to hit snooze a couple extra times to make up for it!

Now, I understand the convenience factor of having it sound like “life is so terrible, might as well be awake”, but I’ll tell you what, life is usually better when you’re sleeping.  Heck, in my own book one of my characters has 3 back to back nightmares and decides to get up, but even though I don’t state the time, she’s getting up more around 6 or 6:30.  You know, just before the sun gets up.  THAT feels reasonable to me.  THAT is something I would do.  And I get that everyone is different, and there are probably those of you out there who would have no problem getting up at 3 or 4 in the morning, just because you can’t sleep, but I am not one of you.  I like my sleep!

And only vampires go shopping at 4am!  (Well, vampires and college students…)

