OCTOBER
7 Frankly, I couldn’t be more astonished that this guy was involved in something like this than if you came riding through my apartment on a hippopotamus.
Dan Rather

7 Rather 530
OCTOBER
8 I can spell hat, H-A-T.
I can spell cat, C-A-T.
I can spell mat, M-A-T.
But I can’t spell hippopotamus.
Fred Coots, “I Can’t Spell Hippopotamus”

7 800px-Hippo_mouth1
OCTOBER
9 Then the Princess had a truly good heart: She was always kind to her pets. She never slapped her hippopotamus when it broke her dolls in its playful gambols, and she never forgot to feed her rhinoceroses in their little hutch in the backyard. Her elephant was devoted to her, and sometimes Mary Ann made her nurse quite cross by smuggling the dear little thing up to bed with her and letting it go to sleep with its long trunk laid lovingly across her throat, and its pretty head cuddled under the Royal right ear.
Edith Nesbit, The Book of Dragons: “Uncle James, or The Purple Stranger”

7 Book-of-Dragons
OCTOBER
10 Debbie Jellinsky: All I ever wanted was a Ballerina Barbie. In her pretty pink tutu. My Birthday. I was 10, and do you know what they got me? Malibu Barbie.
Morticia: Malibu Barbie.
Gomez: The nightmare.
Morticia: The nerve.
Debbie: That’s not what I wanted! That’s not who I was. I was a Ballerina, graceful, delicate! They had to go.
    Addams Family Values

7 Young_debbie
OCTOBER
11 Susan Vance: You mean you want me to go home?
David Huxley: Yes.
Susan: You mean you don’t want me to help you any more?
David: No.
Susan: After all the fun we’ve had?
David: Yes.
Susan: And after all the things I’ve done for you?
David: That’s what I mean.
Bringing Up Baby

7 bringingupbaby
OCTOBER
12-13 Giles:  Cordelia!
Cordelia:  What!? Why does everyone always yell my name?  I can take a hint . . . What’s the hint?
BTVS (TV)
16cordelia

