DECEMBER
16 Jimmy Dugan: Are you crying? Are you crying? ARE YOU CRYING? There’s no crying! THERE’S NO CRYING IN BASEBALL!
Doris Murphy: Why don’t you give her a break, Jimmy?
Jimmy: Oh, you zip it, Doris! Rogers Hornsby was my manager, and he called me a talking pile of pig shit. And that was when my parents drove all the way down from Michigan to see me play the game. And did I cry?
Evelyn Gardner: No, no, no.
Jimmy: Yeah! NO. And do you know why?
Evelyn: No.…
Jimmy: Because there’s no crying in baseball. THERE’S NO CRYING IN BASEBALL! No crying!
A League of Their Own

16 league fo their own
DECEMBER
17 These are bagpipes. I understand the inventor of the bagpipes was inspired when he saw a man carrying an indignant, asthmatic pig under his arm. Unfortunately, the man-made sound never equaled the purity of the sound achieved by the pig.
Alfred Hitchcock

alfred
DECEMBER
18 If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
Gustav Mahler

16 Gustav-Mahler
DECEMBER
19 Sheldon: I made tea.
Leonard: I don’t want tea.
Sheldon: I didn’t make tea for you. This is my tea.
Leonard: Then why are you telling me?
Sheldon: It’s a conversation starter.
Leonard: That’s a lousy conversation starter.
Sheldon: Oh, is it? We’re conversing. Checkmate.
The Big Bang Theory

30 big bang theory
DECEMBER
20 A single conversation across the table with a wise person is worth a month’s study of books.
Chinese Proverb
DECEMBER
21-22 Books aren’t written – they’re rewritten. Including your own. It is one of the hardest things to accept, especially after the seventh rewrite hasn’t quite done it.
Michael Crichton

16 michael crichton
DECEMBER
23 The first draft of anything is shit.
Earnest Hemmingway

16 ernest hemmingway
DECEMBER
24 Narrator: A philosopher once asked, “Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at them because we are human?” Pointless, really… “Do the stars gaze back?” Now that’s a question.
Stardust

stardust
DECEMBER
25 It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live.
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

16 Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer's_Stone
DECEMBER
26 Now I existed solely thanks to the quantum paradox, my brain a collection of cubits in quantum superposition, encoding truths and memories, imagination and irrationality in opposing, contradictory states that existed and didn’t exist, all at the same time.”
Robin Wasserman, Crashed

16 crashed
DECEMBER
27     “Why does it say she has three hundred and twenty friends?” Josh asks. “Who has that many friends?”
Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, The Future of Us

2future
DECEMBER
28-29 So long ago, I don’t remember when
That’s when they say I lost my only friend
Well they said she died easy of a broken heart disease
As I listened through the cemetery trees
The Wallflowers, “One Headlight”

 

